Seymour Newbery Books

  • Newbery Medal and Honor Books, 1976-Present

    Available in the Seymour Library

    2011 Medal Winner: Moon over Manifest by Clare Vanderpool 

     Honor Books:

    • Turtle in Paradise by Jennifer L. Holm 
    • One Crazy Summer by Rita Williams-Garcia

    2010 Medal WinnerWhen You Reach Me  by Rebecca Stead 

    2009 Medal Winner: The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman, illus. by Dave McKean

    • Honor Books:
    • The Underneath by Kathi Appelt, illus. by David Small 
    • 2008 Honor Books:
    • Elijah of Buxton by Christopher Paul Curtis
    • Feathers by Jacqueline Woodson

    2007 Medal Winner:  The Higher Power of Lucky by  Susan Patron, illus. by Matt Phelan

    • Honor Books:
    • Rules by Cynthia Lord  

    2006 Honor Books:

    • Whittington by Alan Armstrong, illustrated by S.D. Schindler 
    • Princess Academy by Shannon Hale 

    2005 Medal Winner:  Kira-Kira by Cynthia Kadohata

    • Honor Books:
    • Al Capone Does My Shirts by Gennifer Choldenko 
    • The Voice that Challenged a Nation: Marian Anderson and the Struggle for Equal Rights" by Russell Freedman 

     2004 Medal Winner:  The Tale of Despereaux: Being the Story of a Mouse, a Princess, Some Soup, and a Spool of Thread by Kate DiCamillo, illustrated by Timothy Basil Ering,

    • Honor Books:
    •      Olive's Ocean by Kevin Henkes 

    2003 Medal Winner:  Crispin: The Cross of Lead by Avi

    • Honor Books:
    • The House of the Scorpion by Nancy Farmer
    • Pictures of Hollis Woods by Patricia Reilly Giff
    • Hoot by Carl Hiaasen
    • Surviving the Applewhites by Stephanie S. Tolan

    2002 Medal Winner:    A Single Shard by Linda Sue Park

    Honor Books:

    • Everything on a Waffle by Polly Horvath 

    2001 Medal Winner:   A Year Down Yonder by Richard Peck

    • Honor Books:
    • Because of Winn-Dixie by Kate DiCamillo
    • Joey Pigza Loses Control by Jack Gantos
    • The Wanderer by Sharon Creech

    2000 Medal Winner:   Bud, Not Buddy by Christopher Paul Curtis
    Honor Books:

    • 26 Fairmount Avenue by Tomie dePaola 

    1999 Medal Winner:   Holes by Louis Sachar

    • Honor Book:
    • A Long Way from Chicago by Richard Peck 

    1998 Medal Winner:   Out of the Dust by Karen Hesse

    • Honor Books:
    • Ella Enchanted by Gail Carson Levine 

    1997 Medal Winner: The View from Saturday by E.L. Konigsburg

    • Honor Books:
    • Moorchild by Eloise McGraw
    • The Thief by Megan Whalen Turner

    1996 Medal Winner:   The Midwife's Apprentice by Karen Cushman

    • Honor Books:
    • The Watsons Go to Birmingham: 1963 by Christopher Paul Curtis
    • Yolonda's Genius by Carol Fenner  
    • The Great Fire by Jim Murphy 

    1995 Medal Winner   Walk Two Moons by Sharon Creech

    • Honor Books:
    • Catherine, Called Birdy by Karen Cushman 

    1994 Medal Winner:  The Giver by Lois Lowry

    • Honor Books:
    • Eleanor Roosevelt: A Life of Discovery by Russell Freedman 

    1993 Medal Winner: Missing May by Cynthia Rylant

    1992 Medal Winner: Shiloh by Phyllis Reynolds Naylor

    Honor Books:

    • Nothing But The Truth: a Documentary Novel by Avi

    1991 Medal Winner: Maniac Magee by Jerry Spinelli

    • Honor Book:
    • The True Confessions of Charlotte Doyle by Avi

    1990 Medal Winner: Number the Stars by Lois Lowry

    Honor Books:

    • Afternoon of the Elves by Janet Taylor Lisle 

    1989 Medal Winner: Joyful Noise: Poems for Two Voices by Paul Fleischman


    1988 Medal Winner: Lincoln: A Photobiography by Russell Freedman

    Honor Books:

    • Hatchet by Gary Paulsen 

    1987 Medal Winner: The Whipping Boy by Sid Fleischman

    • Honor Books:
    • On My Honor by Marion Dane Bauer

    1986 Medal Winner: Sarah, Plain and Tall by Patricia MacLachlan 

    1985 Medal Winner: The Hero and the Crown by Robin McKinley

    • Honor Books:
    • The Moves Make the Man by Bruce Brooks
    • One-Eyed Cat by Paula Fox 

    1984 Medal Winner: Dear Mr. Henshaw by Beverly Cleary

    • Honor Books:
    • A Solitary Blue by Cynthia Voigt
    • Sugaring Time by Kathryn Lasky

    1983 Medal Winner: Dicey's Song by Cynthia Voigt

    • Honor Books:
    • Homesick: My Own Story by Jean Fritz
    • 1982 Honor Books:
    • Ramona Quimby, Age 8 by Beverly Cleary

    1981 Medal Winner: Jacob Have I Loved by Katherine Paterson

    • Honor Books:
    • The Fledgling by Jane Langton  1980 Medal Winner: A Gathering of Days: A New England Girl's Journal, 1830-1832 by Joan W. Blos 1979 Medal Winner: The Westing Game by Ellen Raskin
    • Honor Book:
      • The Great Gilly Hopkins by Katherine Paterson

      1978 Medal Winner: Bridge to Terabithia by Katherine Paterson

      • Honor Books:
      • Ramona and Her Father by Beverly Cleary

      1977 Medal Winner: Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry by Mildred D. Taylor

      • Honor Books:
      • Abel's Island by William Steig 
    • A String in the Harp by Nancy Bond 

    1976 Medal Winner: The Grey King by Susan Cooper

    • Honor Books:

      • The Hundred Penny Box by Sharon Bell Mathis